1. Special Award for Outstanding Research Achievement, Squibb Institute for Medical Research (now, Bristol-Myer Squibb), Princeton, NJ, 1972.
2. Special Award for Outstanding Faculty Research and Teaching, Korea Advanced Institute of Science, Seoul, 1979
3. National Order of Civil Merit, Presidential Medal of Honor for Outstanding Scientific Contribution, Korea, 1981
4. Founding Fellow, American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering, 1992-
5. Member of the National Academy of Science and Engineering of Korea, 1997-
6. Ho-Am Award (Samsung) for Outstanding Accomplishment in Biomolecular Engineering, 2004
7. International Enzyme Engineering Conferences Award, 2005
8. International Biochemical Engineering Award Asia-Pacific, 2005
9. Japan Science Promotion Society Senior Fellow Award, 2011
10. Distinguished Chair Professor Fulbright Scholar Award, US State Department, 2012
11. Outstanding Contributions to KSEA (Korean American Scientist and Engineers Association), Awarded by the Ministry of Science and ICT Planning.
12. Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award for His Demonstrated Unwavering Excellence in His Chosen Field of Biotechnology, 2019